Posted by: Nick | November 8, 2013

Oh hi blog

Clearly I am not very good at blogging.

I have re-started this blog because of the 2013 Academic Writing Month (AcWriMo). AcWriMo encourages people in academia to focus on writing during the month of November (in preference to all the other things we could be doing, like reading or running experiments). I participated last year for the first time, and did pretty well. I will write a post soon about that success.

I am currently a Lecturer in Psychology at Swansea University, UK. This new post (since September!) means that I can’t devote as much time to my writing as I would like. I have a heavy lecturing load for the next few weeks, which will have to take priority.

My goals this year are:

  1. Section of a collaborative paper. I am involved in a large paper that has many co-authors. Although I am only writing a smallish (600 word) section, I want it to be good!
  2. Internal grant application. I would like to bid for some money from Swansea University’s internal research fund to do a few bits of research as pilot work for a larger grant application in the Spring. Again, the total amount of writing isn’t huge (1500 words or so), but there is a lot riding on them being good words!
  3. Four blog posts. Academic blogging is an all-round good thing, both in terms of increasing impact, and for developing thinking. I will blog four times this month (not including this one).

So this year’s AcWriMo is all about quality rather than quantity for me. A few small goals with (hopefully) high pay-offs. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

Categories

